{a StuccoHouse junk bonanza experience}


Blogger StuccoHouse shares her experience from Junk Bonanza.

Junk Bonanza Early Bird TicketsI’m not a morning person.  At all.  So, it is a noteworthy event when something is so interesting to me that I am willing to get up (with a smile) at 6:00 in the morning to attend.

This year Hirshfield’s sponsored a raffle for Junk Bonanza tickets on Twitter. Much to my delight, I won two tickets.

I’m new to “junking” but have been an antique and craft sales shopper my entire life. Junking comes close to combining both.  One of my coworkers has been talking about the Junk Bonanza for years, so she was the logical choice for the other free ticket.

The tickets I won were of the highly coveted “early bird” variety. They essentially got you in two hours earlier than the madding crowds so you could snatch up the best stuff before anyone else got to it, but that meant you had to be there around 8:00 a.m.

Cottage Paint demonstration at Junk Bonanza.

Cottage Paint demonstration at Junk Bonanza.

After a bit of a traffic snafu, we arrived at about 8:30 a.m. and were instantly struck by how seriously the women in the parking lot walking in took this.  They had very determined looks on their faces, purses with straps crossing their body and shopping carts as they rushed to the entrance. They were ready for serious two-handed shopping.

I was a little overwhelmed by the sheer number of booths.  There were 150+ vendors.  My plan was to walk through the entire layout and then go back and buy anything I was interested in.  It took me 2 ½ hours to accomplish this.

Hirshfield’s had a booth on the second floor where they had displays of their clay based Cottage Paint and the Benjamin Moore Chalkboard Paint and representative that were kept busy giving advice to shoppers. I know this because I stopped in to thank them for the tickets and they were so busy, I was never able to thank them!!  All was not lost though, because I overheard some good advice and picked up some good paint coupons. They also had some well attended paint technique demos.

When it was all said and done, I ended up with a decent haul.  I bought two machine parts that work as photo holders.   I found an egg basket from one of my favorite Carver, MN antique stores.  I also snagged a little metal bin to store my make-up (I regret not buying a few of them, as I realized that they stack when I got home).  Part of my prize was a free t-shirt and bag which made nice souvenirs of the day.  A couple of vintage zinc lids for my Ball canning jars also found their way into my bag.  And last but not least, I picked up a cute metal bucket with a Halloween cut out.

All in all, it was a very fun and successful day.  A huge “thank you” to Hirshfield’s for making it happen for me!

Hirshfield's and Junk Bonanza

Sincerely,

StuccoHouse

Since Frank and Elizabeth Hirshfield opened their first store in 1894, it has been our mission to do the best job possible meeting customer needs and solving customer problems. Hirshfield’s. People and products you can trust.

Leave a Reply

