{friday finds: the priestess of waste-free living}


I ran across a most interesting article last February when it appeared in my Benjamin Moore “Google Alerts.” Go figure. It has been whispering to me ever since, and as a nod to Earth Day I thought I would share.

Michelle Slatalla writes for the New York Times and this is the story of her neighbor Bea, “the Priestess of Waste-Free Living.” I admire Bea’s commitment to our planet. I love her mantra: Refuse, refuse, refuse. Then reduce, reuse, recycle (and only in that order) . Incorporating a couple of Bea’s lifestyle choices into our own lives should not be that difficult. There’s always room for improvement.

Need more ideas? Next weekend, May 1 & 2, 2010, is the LivingGreen Expo at the State Fairgrounds.

4 Responses to “{friday finds: the priestess of waste-free living}”

  1. Amy Says:

    I think we all need to think more about our habits, but this Bea character freaks me out. It’s over the top, but I imagine now that she’s created a brand around it she has to completely commit to it.

    P.S. Having her sons pee in her planters? No thanks. I don’t even want to know what she uses instead of toilet paper.

  2. Marsha Says:

    Amy,
    I would like to think that Bea’s practices come from the heart and that she doesn’t consider her lifestyle a brand.

    Over the top? Yes and no. I would rather see someone be over the top when trying to be a better steward of this planet. I think of my neighbors and co-workers who don’t even recycle and that freaks me out. I’ll give you the peeing in the planters as over the top.

    It was an enjoyable article and I will check up on Bea to see where her choices take her.

  3. Amy Says:

    My tone probably didn’t come across well. I did enjoy the article [ and upon re-reading was happy to note that she does use toilet paper ; ) ]. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

