{window treatment wednesday}


Once again, Hunter Douglas leads the world of window coverings with their recently launched iPad App, “The Art of Window Dressing.” This free app lets you see what Hunter Douglas products will look like on the windows in your home.  If you have a hard time visualizing the end product this App is for you.

App highlights:

Fashion Show lets you view hundreds of Hunter Douglas products. With a tap of your finger you have the product details, a gallery of room settings, whilst still seeing your window treatment in the background.

Swatch Sorter lets you do just that, sort through all the fabrics, colors, and styles available from Hunter Douglas.

Dress A Window lets you take a photo of your window, and using the Hunter Douglas proprietary iMagine rendering tool, lets you see how the window treatment will look on your window. Renderings can be saved with fabric type and color in a “Workbook” and shared by email, Facebook or with a dealer.

I uploaded my family room window, selected products, and found operating the rendering tool was seamless. Selecting different fabrics and products also worked smoothly. I was told I could not use a particular shade because my window was too small. Scratch that shade from my short list.

What it didn’t tell me was, because I have an older home, the Architella window covering would not be flush with my window casing and would stick out a tad. Michele (Hirshfield’s Roseville) shared that intel with me, which promptly slowed my roll; I need to decide if that would bother me.

The iPad app is a great tool to use to begin searching for window coverings. With thousands of options available, looking through product photos and room settings will help you decide what you like and don’t like, before stepping into a Hirshfield’s store. Then you’ll be in the very capable and knowledgable hands of one of Hirshfield’s many window treatment experts. I know you’re sick of me telling you about Hirshfield’s window treatment experts, but they are A-mazing.

If your home needs  freshening up in the window treatment department, click here for information on Hunter Douglas’ Celebration of Light spring savings event (sale) which runs through June 17, 2012 .

The “Art of Window Dressing” iPad App was named Best Marketing Technology at the Window Covering Manufacturers Association Product Awards.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers