{basic black}


As I was stumbling through StumbleUpon.com the other day, I came across a blog post that caught my eye – Paint it BLACK by LiveLikeYou.com. Not only were the pictures stunning, but the question posed by the author got me thinking – “I wondered why we wear this beautiful non color for mourning.  Black is beautiful, black is elegant, black is classy, black is subdued, black is striking, black is fashionable, black is sophisticated, black is severe…but is black sad?”

After looking at these photos I could describe black as dramatic, daring and haunting, but I don’t think I would classify it as sad. What do you think?

Atlanta Home Magazine via LiveLikeYou.com

Luxe and Lilies via LikeLikeYou.com

House Beautiful

LiveLikeYou.com

ApartmentTherapy.com

6 Responses to “{basic black}”

  1. Logan James Says:

    I thought basic black would be terrifying yet stunning at the same time. Bought some solid black wallpaper at DecoratorsBest and couldn’t be more excited to put it up.

  2. dewofthedesert Says:

    I love the idea of an all black room and I’m thinking of doing this in my office. Also check out Desire to Inspire, Jo’s page, for a great example of a black bedroom.

  3. {friday finds: adding a touch of black} « Hirshfield's Color Club Says:

    [...] For more decorating with black inspiration, check out our previous post, Basic Black. [...]

  4. {friday finds: trending – black interior trim and doors} « Hirshfield's Color Club Says:

    [...] black has been steadily trending on the design scene. From dramatic touches of the dark color to entire rooms blanketed in it, black is back and it looks like it’s sticking around! One of the latest trends we’re [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers